Comic Talk and General Discussion *

Drunk Duck Awards 2020
Niccea at 5:06AM, March 19, 2020
(offline)
So, it looks like the world is stuck inside anyways, so I thought it might be a good time to start talking about the awards this year.

I'm not going to put in my usual copy/paste explanation about the awards yet, so this is going to be a place holder. My husband had commandeered the family computer temporarily to work at home, and I have donated my tablet to my toddler so he can watch Frozen and Moana back-to-back-to-back-to-back while he is stuck indoors. So, doing all my usual post on a cell phone is more challenge than I want to take. Side note, I'm 34 weeks pregnant with my second child (another boy) and I thought it would be good to get this started early.

So, that side trip aside, let's get down to business. I've been running the annual Drunk Duck Awards since 2011. I did take a break from it last year to catch my breath. I think the awards are great fun. But they do take up a good half year from planning to presenting, and I needed a break after 8 straight years. I am not the original host of the awards, I just sort of adopted the 5th annual awards and no one wrestled them from my tyrannical grip since.

So before I run off anybody with my text wall, I better say what the awards are. They are an annual celebration of what makes this website great: the community. Think of something like the Oscars, but a lot less pretentious. Most of the awards categories are reserved for comics of course. We have genre awards like Best Horror and Best Fantasy. We have technical aware like Best Background Art or Best Layouts. We even have awards for Best Protagonist and Antagonist to mimic the Best Actor/Actress awards. We also have the user awards which recognize the individuals that work the hardest within the community to make this a fun site for all.