Comic Talk and General Discussion *

preferred comic updates
Spooky Kitsune at 8:44AM, April 15, 2024
(offline)
how do you prefer comics updates? like one page every day or a bunch of pages monthly? I've been planing for my next comic and i'm not sure which one is I should go for…probably one chapter monthly because I tend to get impatient easily waiting for a page every day (as a reader) and it'll force me actually plan things out (as a writer)

but I wonder which one do you guys prefer as a reader or writer?
last edited on April 15, 2024 8:45AM
marcorossi at 11:37AM, April 15, 2024
(offline)
As a reader I don't see much difference, as an author I prefer to publish single pages because this way I get more screentime on the homepage.
J_Scarbrough at 12:13PM, April 15, 2024
(offline)
It's easier and more feasible IMO if its a single update on a daily, weekly, or even bi-weekly basis. I have nothing against a bunch of pages being dropped once a month, but sometimes, I don't have the time I'd like to to be able to sit and read them all in one sitting when they drop like that.

Joseph Scarbrough
YouTube :: Facebook :: Instagram
bravo1102 at 1:18PM, April 15, 2024
(offline)
Single update as frequently as a page a day. That's also about the speed of my writing and creating.
I see it like a daily serialized comic like what used to be in newspapers going back to the 1930s. It's like Flash Gordon or Tarzan or even the newspaper versions of Batman and Superman. A webcomic isn't a monthly subscription but a daily or weekly one. Prince Valiant is still a weekly serial in the Sunday paper.

This medium is not like print comics. There isn't one print one a month. The newsstand is open every day and can update every day and not wait for the print run once every four weeks.