General Discussion

Why I hate Windows Vista!
seventy2 at 5:34AM, Feb. 19, 2009
(online)
posts: 3,953
joined: 11-15-2007
lefarce
internet explorer (memory leak that)

I… I'm sorry are you actually boasting about using Internet Explorer?

That's like bragging about living in a mobile home.



#1. it's “modular”…(ha, i hate that lady)

#2. basically i was saying that firefox with a “memory leak” is nothing compared to just running straight explorer.
facara
Running Anew an exercise blog.
I'm gonna love you till the money comes, half of it's gonna be mine someday.
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:29PM
Skullbie at 4:32PM, Feb. 19, 2009
(online)
posts: 4,709
joined: 12-9-2007
lastcall
OK, that's just not cool, man. :mad: I never understand people who like to get power trips by hiding behind a computer and insulting others….
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:47PM
VinceLikesRooster at 11:45PM, Feb. 20, 2009
(offline)
posts: 136
joined: 9-7-2007
I'm running Vista Basic and yes, I TOTALLY agree it's a memory hog. I have not had ONE problem with Vista at all. I'm running a gig of ram btw. I can run Photoshop CS3, FireFox, Sony Vegas, IDM, and Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0 (fully upgraded) without an issue.

And all of that running at once and I have more memory to run other stuff. I can't wait to get my laptop. An Intel Core 2 Duo 2.3 or 4 processor, 4 gb of ram, 200 gb HD, a REAL GOOD Nvidia Graphics Card (I think 9800), Vista Premium and so far that's all the info I have
last edited on July 14, 2011 4:42PM
Senshuu at 4:51PM, Feb. 25, 2009
(offline)
posts: 391
joined: 5-23-2006
lefarce
Senshuu
lefarce
Senshuu
I need enough RAM to comfortably run Photoshop, Maya, Firefox, and my music player simultaneously. :D

2GB. Currently at 1GB and I can run Firefox, Music and sometimes Photoshop. An extra gig will easily allow Photoshop and Maya to run. Trust me on this, buy ONE MORE gig. if youre still having problems, go from there. But dont waste your money needlessly smacking more components than what you need.

It's wasteful and stupid.

Is that even taking in mind Firefox's crazy, amazing memory leaks?

Hey, having any camera above 6 MP is “wasteful” too, but plenty of them are nowadays.

Look, whatever the hell you want to do with your own money is your business. Just stop trying to prove me wrong on this point. You do not NEED 4GB to JUST run Vista SMOOTHLY. You do not just need 6MP to take a picture. But by all means if you want to grab wads of cash and throw it at people, knock yourself out.

I didnt NEED a brand new Zune that could play video, my iPod already plays music. But I spend 80 bucks anyway.

I know most DD users are fucking retarded but this is really not hard to figure out.




Grow a little, man. I'm not trying to prove you wrong, and I'm not trying to improve Vista (because I don't have it - my mom does). You're hardly my advisor, nor are you my sole, unquestionable reference for how I need to upgrade my computer.

I'm just making sure these suggestions keep in mind the gig-sized, 600DPI PSD files I can't run at the moment. 8)
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:27PM
lastcall at 4:59PM, Feb. 25, 2009
(offline)
posts: 1,358
joined: 11-3-2007
Senshuu
I'm just making sure these suggestions keep in mind the gig-sized, 600DPI PSD files I can't run at the moment. 8)

Well I currently have 4GB of RAM on my computer and 600dpi files open in a snap. I used to have a laptop with about 1 or 2GB and those same files would take about 5 minutes to open (although that could be because it was a laptop). So personally, I would go with 4GB just to things run fast & smooth. Sticks of RAM aren't that expensive, depending on your computer. I think I paid about $100 or so for a 1GB stick.
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:28PM
JoeL_CQB at 5:25PM, Feb. 25, 2009
(online)
posts: 531
joined: 4-17-2007
lastcall
I think I paid about $100 or so for a 1GB stick.

that seems a lot for only 1gb.
i got 4gb of ddr2 memory for like $50 after a mail-in rebate. with really good timing.

unless your getting ddr3 sticks, which are the latest, expensive, and pretty slow with timing, but that'll change in the next 6 months.
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:10PM
lastcall at 5:29PM, Feb. 25, 2009
(offline)
posts: 1,358
joined: 11-3-2007
JoeL_CQB
lastcall
I think I paid about $100 or so for a 1GB stick.
that seems a lot for only 1gb.

Well it was a couple of years ago, and I got it through Dell for my laptop, so I'm sure they jacked up the price.
last edited on July 14, 2011 1:28PM
Senshuu at 2:32AM, Feb. 26, 2009
(offline)
posts: 391
joined: 5-23-2006
I got a good idea of what was still “too expensive” when I checked out the RAM sales on the local dying Circuit City the other week. I'm gonna hunt me down some good deals. |D
last edited on July 14, 2011 3:27PM

Forgot Password
©2011 WOWIO, Inc. All Rights Reserved