Meet, Greet, Show and Sell*

Pay The Piper: ( My first webcomic on here)
Dr5pectre at 10:09AM, May 19, 2018
(offline)
Hey guys,
So I bit the bullet and uploaded the first 15 pages of my webcomic to this site. It's called Pay the Piper (or just piper). The story is set in a fantasy world and is based loosely around the story of the pied piper of Hamelin.

Synopsis: When Con artist Nule discovers and unwittingly plays a note on a magic pipe belonging to the infamous pied piper of Hamelin, he unwittingly awakened an ancient evil. Now our unlikely hero must flee for his life, unlock the secrets of the past and fight to save a world that never cared for him. He will discover that some fairy tales are a great deal darker than he ever imagined.

So this story is sort of a comedy adventure (despite how dark the synopsis sounds). I'm going with a cartoony simplistic style. It's kind of weird making a webcomic since I'm primarily a writer and not used to visual storytelling. Hopefully this story works well in comic form. I'm trying to make a board driven story rather than a text based one to challenge myself. The character designs are already changing as I develop the art style, so please bare with me while it settles.

I could really use some advice/ direction for creating a visually driven story. All of the storytelling techniques I'm used to using are for novels and written stories. So I'm worried it might get too wordy, or be confusing. Any advice or feedback you can give me would be SUPER appreciated.

Here's a link to the first page. Please give it a look and let me know what you think. (Not just asking for compliments. Legit want a critique/ helpful tips.)

http://www.theduckwebcomics.com/Pay_The_Piper/5570819/

last edited on May 19, 2018 10:11AM
MG Comics at 6:12PM, May 19, 2018
(offline)
I'm so lucky I find your story interesting and the art is so cute!