Comic Talk and General Discussion *

Making Money?
cirienphoenix at 4:34PM, July 17, 2009
(offline)
So I may be getting an apartment, but it will end up being by myself. Because of this, I may need work outside my regular job. So I have some questions for all of you:

How do you make money on the side, without getting another job (so you can stop anytime you want to)?

Do you make money from your webcomic(s)? How?

Do you sell items on etsy.com? Do you make fairly good sales from it? Like at least double what it cost you to make the item?

What else could I do to earn extra money?

I was considering freelancing as well, but the only problem with that is that the area I'm in isn't very good for freelance work as far as websites or printed materials and layouts go. (I'm a graphic designer.) So… please help?
last edited on July 14, 2011 11:42AM
lba at 1:23PM, July 19, 2009
(online)
Find a roommate if you can. That's the best way to save money on an apartment. Otherwise you can cut costs if you're willing to live near a college campus or take a step down on the neighborhood you live in.

Freelancing is something you have to do online these days. Local contacts are great and usually leads to more consistent business from the same people, but you have to get online and make new contacts elsewhere to get ahead.

Galleries are also a decent way to make some extra cash for not too much work put in once the pieces are up. The payoff is slow and unsteady, but like I said, it's not too much work so you have to balance it out. I've found galleries that host parties or places where people are drinking tend to be the places I sell more work. There aren't too many places like that, but once you find them then you've done half the work.